Pangani Basin Water Board (PBWB)

Pangani Basin Water Board (PBWB) was established in July, 1991 in accordance with the Water Utilization (Control and Regulation) Act No. 42 of 1974 and its subsequent amendments. But the former Act has been repealed with recently Water Resources Management Act No. 11 of 2009. The Head Office of the Basin is located in Moshi Municipality in Kilimanjaro Region. The two other offices are situated in Arusha and Tanga.

The Pangani Basin Water Board is comprised of ten members, drawn from the public institutions and private sector (including representatives of catchment water committees, LGAs, UWSAs, MoW, private sector water users and water related sectors). The Chairperson and the members of the board are appointed by Minister responsible for water. According to the Water Resources Management Act of 2009, the Basin Water Board is financially and administratively autonomous body. The Water Officer is the Secretary to the Board.
Board Members

More on Organisation

Pangani River Basin Management Project

News and Resources